THE UNIVERSITY OF VETERINARY AND ANIMAL SCIENCES, LAHORE ORDINANCE, 2002

(Pb. Ord. XXIX of 2002)

SCHEDULE THE FIRST STATUTES (SEE SECTION 48)

1. Faculties:-

- (2) There shall be a Board of each Faculty which shall consist of-
 - (i) the Dean to be appointed in the manner prescribed in subparagraph (2) of paragraph 2;
 - (ii) the Professor and the Chairman of the Teaching Department comprised in the Faculty;
 - (iii) two members of each Board of Studies, comprised in the Faculty, to be nominated by the Board of Studies concerned;
 - (iv) three teachers to be nominated by the Academic Council by reason of their specialized knowledge of the subjects, which though not assigned to the Faculty, have, in the opinion of the Academic Council, important bearing on the subjects assigned to the Faculty; and
 - (v) one representative each from younger teachers namely Associate Professors, Assistant Professors and Lecturers to be nominated by the Dean.
- (3) The members mentioned in clauses (iii) and (iv) of sub-paragraph (2) shall hold office for three years.
- (4) The quorum for a meeting of the Board of a Faculty shall be one-half of the total number of members, a fraction being counted as one.
- (5) The Board of each Faculty shall, subject to the general control of the Academic Council and the Syndicate, have the powers to
 - (i) co-ordinate the teaching, publication and research work in the subjects assigned to the Faculty;
 - scrutinize the recommendations of the Boards of Studies comprised in the Faculty in regard to the appointment of paper setters and examiners, except for research examinations and to forward the panels of suitable paper setters and examiners for each examination to the Vice-Chancellor;
 - (iii) consider any other academic matter relating to the Faculty and to report thereon to the Academic Council; and
 - (iv) perform such other functions as may be prescribed by Statutes.